Introduction
The idea for this variant is based on a simple but significant
deviation from the standard adjudication rules. In standard Diplomacy,
attacks are transitive. In other words, if one attack can defeat
a second, and the second attack can defeat a third, then the first
attack defeats the third. In logical terms, this can be expressed
something like:
a > b, b > c --> a > c
(where
"-->" means "implies")
In Arpiesse Diplomacy, attacks are not transitive, so that it
is possible to have a set of attacks where a > b,
b > c, and c > a. Such a set of attacks would not
be consistent with the standard rules, but they can occur in Arpiesse
Diplomacy.
In order to make adjudication possible, each unit in Arpiesse
Diplomacy is assigned a color -- either red, purple or silver.
The bulk of the rules of Arpiesse Diplomacy dictate the way attacks
are adjudicated based on the color of the units involved. There are actually
few rules, but they can result in all sorts of interesting cases,
so a number of examples will be given. These rules cover as many
cases as I could think up. It is possible that there is some
case that I missed, so if you note any instances that are not
covered by the rules, or any rules that contradict one another,
please let me know.
Some people might find it odd to use colors since game pieces
already have colors. This shouldn't really matter, since I don't
expect that anyone playing this variant would go and add colors
to game pieces. More likely, the "colors" for each
of the units would be recorded on paper. The alternative would
have been to use some label other than colors, but that would
still require some way of recording the label for each unit.
I find that picturing units with a certain color makes
it easier to play out a combination of orders in my head, while
picturing a "rug" army attacking a "phone"
army that is supported by a "ski" fleet is pretty meaningless.
If you find some alternative set of three labels preferable,
feel free to substitute them for the colors. The rules will work
just as well.
These simple modifications to the rules make for new (hopefully
interesting) dynamics. By changing the way attacks are adjudicated,
they affect strategy quite a bit. The tactical game can be quite
different as well. Succesful set up of attacks and use of
the support order will differ considerably from the standard game, and
the traditional way of setting up stalemate lines won't work.
Playing out various situations, even mentally, will bring out some of these
differences.
Rules for Arpiesse Diplomacy
-
I. Initial Game Setup
- The initial unit types and locations
are the same as in standard Diplomacy. All initial units are red. Units
that are built in Winter phases during the game can be of any color. If
a player forgets to specify a color for a build, the defaul color is red.
- II. Superiority of Colors
- In order to create the non-transitivity of attacks, each color is given
superiority over one of the other colors as follows:
| Color | Is Superior To | Is Inferior To
|
|---|
| Red | Silver | Purple
|
|---|
| Purple | Red | Silver
|
|---|
| Silver | Purple | Red
|
|---|
Two units of the same color are said to be equivalent
to one another.
Or, put another way:
R < P, P < S, S < R, R = R, S = S, P = P
(If you can figure out where the name for Arpiesse Diplomacy came
from, it will be easy to remember the order of precedence without
referring to the rules. If you can't and want to know, drop me
an e-mail and ask.)
- III. Equivalent Attacks
- Attacks among equivalent units are adjudicated exactly the same way as
in standard Diplomacy. When units of like color are involved, the strength
of an attack, including support(s) for the attacker and defender, determines
whether or not the attack is successful.
Example 1:
|
Italy:
| Red A Ven -> Tri Red F Adr S Red A Ven -> Tri
|
Austria:
| Red A Tri HOLDS
|
Result:
| This is an equivalent attack, so the attack of strength
2 defeats the defense of strength 1. The Italian move to Tri succeeds
and the Austrian unit in Tri is dislodged.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
- IV. Support Among Equivalent Units
- Support orders for equivalent units are adjudicated exactly the same way
as in standard Diplomacy.
- V. Non-Equivalent Attacks
-
(Note that in all the examples for this section of the rules, while
the attacks are made by one unit against a non-equivalent unit, the supports
given to the attacker and defender all come from equivalent units; that is, in
these examples, all units that receive support are supported by
units of the same color. This is because there is an additional
set of rules [in section VI] that govern support of units by
non-equivalent units.)
For attacks among non-equivalent units:
- An attack by a unit that is superior to any and all other units that are
either attacking or defending the attacked location always succeeds,
regardless of the strength of the attack.
Example 2:
|
Germany:
| Red A Pru -> War
|
Russia:
| Silver A War HOLDS Silver A Mos S A War
|
Austria:
| Silver A Boh -> War Silver A Gal S A Boh -> War
Silver A Ukr S A Boh -> War
|
Result:
| The German attack on War is a superior attack and succeeds
regardless of strength. In other words, the attack succeeds even
though Russia is defending with strength 2 while Germany is only
attacking with strength 1. Similarly, the Austrian attack fails,
regardless of strength, because the German attack is a superior
attack. Had the German unit not been involved, this would be
an equivalent attack and Austria would succeed as per the standard
rules.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
- Conversely, a defense of a location that is made by a unit superior to
all units that are attacking the location always succeeds, regardless of
the strength of the defense.
Example 3:
|
England:
| Purple F Nth HOLDS
|
France:
| Red F Bel -> Nth Red F Eng S F Bel -> Nth
|
Result:
| The English fleet remains in Nth because the inferior
attack fails regardless of strength.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
- Superiority/inferiority of attacks/defenses is adjudicated
before units are dislodged; once an attack has failed, it cannot
then succeed. If you think about it, this rule follows from the
simultaneity of adjudication in the standard rules. [The rule is made
explicit in order to address the situation in the example below.]
Example 4:
|
Austria:
| Purple A Rum HOLDS
|
Russia:
| Silver A Sev -> Rum
|
Turkey:
| Red F Bla -> Rum
|
Result:
| The Russian move to Rum succeeds because it is a superior
attack. The Turkish move to Rum fails because it is an inferior
attack and once failed it cannot later succeed. Therefore it
is incorrect to reason that the Austrian unit is dislodged
due to the Russian move, and given the Russian and Turkish moves
to Rum the Turkish move should succeed because the Red Turkish
fleet is superior to the Silver Russian Army.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
- The no-self-dislodgement rule applies, even if the attack on
one's own unit is a superior attack.
Neither may a support for an attack cause (that is, be necessary
to cause) the dislodgement of a unit owned by the same power as the
supporting unit.
Example 5:
|
Turkey:
| Red A Bul HOLDS Purple A Con -> Bul
|
Result:
| Although the attack on Bul is a superior attack, it fails
because an attack may not dislodge a unit belonging the same power.
|
|---|
|
|---|
- If there are two or more equivalent attacks of equal strength into
an occupied location, the beleaguered garrison rule applies even
if the attacking units are superior to the one that occupies the space.
This, too, is a logical extension of
the standard rules, but it is made explicit for completeness.
Example 6:
|
England:
| Silver A Bel HOLDS
|
France:
| Red A Bur -> Bel Red A Pic S A Bur -> Bel
|
Germany:
| Red A Ruh -> Bel Red A Hol S A Ruh -> Bel
|
Result:
| Despite the fact that the French and German units are superior
to the English unit, due to the beleaguered garrison rule the
English unit is not dislodged because the attacks into Bel are
of equal strength and bounce.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
- If a combination of attacks cannot be resolved logically due
to a paradox or "looping", then all attacks fail.
Example 7:
|
Italy:
| Purple A Ven -> Tri
|
Turkey:
| Red A Ser -> Tri Red A Alb S Red A Ser -> Tri
|
Austria:
| Silver A Tyr -> Tri
Silver A Bud S A Tyr -> Tri
Silver A Bud S A Tyr -> Tri
|
Result:
|
The Italian attack is superior to the Turkish attack, the Turkish attack
is superior to the Austrian attack, and the Austrian attack is superior to
the Italian attack (the superiority of an attack is unaffected by supports
and associated attack strengths). These attacks cannot be resolved so all
attacks fail. Love that non-transitivity.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
- VI. Support Among Non-Equivalent Units
-
- As in standard Diplomacy, a unit receiving support moves or
defends with its own strength plus that of all (uncut) supporting
units. In Arpiesse Diplomacy, if a unit receives support from
a superior unit, it moves or defends with the superior color
as well as its own color.
Example 8:
|
Russia:
| Red A Sil HOLDS Purple A War S A Sil Silver A Pru S A Sil
|
Result:
| Because the unit in Sil is receiving support from a superior
unit in War, it defends as a Red and Purple unit. It does not
receive the color Silver from the army in Pru because that unit
is not a superior unit.
|
|---|
|
|---|
- A unit may not obtain an inferior color through support,
even if the support comes from a superior unit.
Example 9:
|
England:
| Purple F Lon S F Nth Red F Nth S F Eng Silver F Eng HOLDS
|
Result:
| The unit in Nth is receiving support from a superior unit,
and therefore defends with that unit's color as well as its own
(i.e., Red and Purple). The Silver unit in Eng is also receiving
support from a superior unit. However, it cannot receive the
color Purple to defend with, even though it is receiving support
from a superior unit, because Purple is an inferior color for
the Silver unit. Eng can only receive the superior color, Red
in this case, and therefore the fleet in Eng defends as Silver
and Red, but not Purple.
|
|---|
|
|---|
- Just as a unit that offers support in standard Diplomacy does
not give up its own defensive strength to order the support, in
Arpiesse Diplomacy a unit that supports another unit does not
give up its color by doing so.
- In standard Diplomacy, if a unit receives support for an attack
and that attack fails, the unit defends its own location against attack
with its own strength but not the strength of any support it had received
for its failed attack. Similarly, in Arpiesse Diplomacy,
if a unit receives support for an attack and that attack fails, it defends
its original location against attack with only its own strength and
color. Any colors obtained through support for the attack are not available
for defensive purposes.
- VII. Cutting Support
- The cutting of support is handled as in standard Diplomacy with the
exception that an inferior unit cannot cut support ordered by a
superior unit. The cutting of support affects (that is, nullifies) both the
increase in attack/defense strength and the passing of a color from
a superior unit (if applicable) as described in Rule VI.
- VIII. Resolving Multi-Color Attacks and Defenses
-
- A unit attacking or defending with multiple colors can be thought of
as making multiple attacks or defenses, each with one color, and each having
the full strength of itself and its (uncut) supports (that is, its strength
is not divided up among these theoretically separate attacks, each
by a different color).
- To dislodge a unit that is holding with multiple colors, an attacking
unit must make an attack
that defeats each and every one of the holding unit's defenses.
- This is not the same as saying that a defending unit must be
able to defend against each of the attacking unit's attacks
(which would make it easier for an attack to succeed). The burden to
succeed is on the attacker, not the defender.
- This is also not the same as saying that a defending unit must
be able to defend against any one of the attacking unit's attacks (which
would make it harder for an attack to succeed).
- IX. Resolving Multi-Color Attacks by Multiple Units
-
When two or more units attempt to enter an empty province attacking
with multiple colors, each unit can, as before, be thought to be making
multiple attacks each with one color.
- If each of a unit's attacks can defeat each of the other attacking
units' attacks, the first unit succeeds in entering the empty space.
- Also, if each of a unit's attacks can beat or tie each of the
other attacking units' attacks, the first unit still succeeds in entering
the empty space. (Note that at least one of the unit's attacks must beat,
rather than tie, those of the other units, since if they all tie, a standoff
results.)
- If the above rules cannot be logically or consistently resolved (for
example, if more than one unit satisfies the above rules and successfully
attacks the same space) or if a paradox of any sort results, all attacks fail
and a standoff results.
When two or more units attempt to enter an occupied province, attacking
with multiple colors, but the unit occupying the provice successfully
moves out of that province, the province should be considered empty and
the above rules apply. If the unit occupying the provice is holding,
or fails to leave the province, the province is considered to be occupied
and the following rules apply:
- To enter the space, a unit must first be able to successfully attack that
space as if it were an empty space, according to the rules given above.
- That unit must also be able to successfully dislodge the
defending unit according to the rules in Section IX. Note that this
order is important: first, a single unit must be able to move in as if the
space were empty and then it must be able to dislodge the unit
occupying the province. This is not the same as saying that units
must be able to dislodge a defending unit and then any units that can do so
must be able to attack as if the space were empty. In some cases, an attack
that would succeed one way would fail the other, so be sure to consider
the correct ordering.
- Once again, If the above rules cannot be logically or consistently
resolved or if a paradox of any sort results, all attacks fail and
a standoff results.
- X. The Retreat Order
- Retreats are handled as in standard Diplomacy, with the exception that if
two or more units are ordered to retreat to the same space, then if one unit
is superior to the other(s), the retreat for the superior unit succeeds and
only the inferior unit or units are disbanded.
- XI. The Convoy Order
- Convoys are handled as in standard Diplomacy. A fleet need not be a
certain color in order to convoy any particular army.
- XII. Optional "Color Exchange" Rule
- A Summer phase is added between the Spring and Fall phases. During
the Summer phase, each unit may submit an exchange order,
of the form:
"Unit-1 exchange with Unit-2"
(any non-ambiguous syntax is acceptable, such as omitting the word
"with" or using "Exch" or "X" rather than
"exchange").
If and only if two units submit the same exchange order for one another,
and if the two units are located such that either one could support
the other's HOLD order (even if both can't support each other's
HOLD orders) then the two units switch colors.
Note that it is not necessary for either unit to actually support
a HOLD order before or after the exchange -- it must merely
be possible for one to do so.
Example 10:
|
Italy:
| Purple F Adr X A Tri
|
Austria:
| Silver A Tri X F Adr
|
Result:
| The units in Tri and Adr both have submitted an order
for the same exchange. Since the fleet in Adr is located such
that it could support Tri to HOLD, the units exchange colors even
though the army in Tri cannot support the fleet which is located
in a body of water.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
Example 11:
|
Russia:
| Red F StP(SC) X F Nwy
|
| England: Purple F Nwy X F StP(SC)
|
Result:
| Although the fleet in StP(SC) cannot support the fleet
in Nwy to HOLD, the fleet in Nwy can support the fleet in StP(SC)
to hold, so the units exchange colors.
|
|---|
|
|---|
|
|---|
Example 12:
|
France:
| Red F Gas X F Mar Silver F Mar X F Gas
|
Result:
| Although the Mar and Gas fleets are adjacent to one another,
neither fleet can support the other to HOLD so the exchange order
is not valid. If either unit had been an army, the exchange would succeed.
|
|---|
|
|---|
[Note: In the rules above, I haven't provided quite as many examples as I
wanted to, particularly in sections VIII and IX.
I'll plan on adding some more examples next week. If you have any
opinions or feedback (good or bad) I'd be interested in hearing from you.
And if you are interested in trying a game of Arpiesse Diplomacy,
let me know. If I get seven players, I'll start a game, though I suspect
the adjudication will be quite a challenge.]
If you wish to e-mail feedback on this article
to the author,
click on the letter or envelope above. If that does not work, feel
free to use the "Dear
DP..." mail interface.